SFA piano recital to feature works by Copland, Mozart, Lutoslawski, Rachmaninoff

More From This Author

Luis Ruperto
One of our great writers!

Dr. Minhae Lee, assistant professor of piano at Stephen F. Austin State University, will collaborate with Dr. Jeong-Eun Lee, visiting assistant professor of music at Indiana University, to present a recital at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 18, in Cole Concert Hall on the SFA campus.

The program will feature “El Salón México” by Aaron Copland, arranged for two pianos by Leonard Bernstein; Two Piano Sonata in D major, K. 448 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart; Paganini Variation for Two Pianos by Witold Lutoslawski; and Suite No. 1 in C minor, Op. 17 by Sergei Rachmaninoff.

Minhae Lee joined the faculty of the School of Music at SFA in 2021. Equally at home as both a solo pianist and collaborative pianist, she has held a staff position as collaborative pianist at the Jeju International Brass Competition, the Manhattan School of Music, the Manhattan in the Mountains Summer Festival, Michigan State University, Central Michigan State University and the Aspen Music Festival and School as a full scholarship pianist. Before joining SFA, Lee was named as the only Collaborative Piano Fellow at the Yale School of Music in 2020 where she played for numerous master classes and recitals and worked closely with renowned musicians and pedagogues. She was a winner of the North Shore Musicians Club Competition in Chicago, the Honors Concerto Competition at Michigan State University, the NTD International Piano Competition, the Golden Classical Music Awards International Competition, the TBC Daegu Broadcasting Competition and the Daejin University Piano Competition. As an active chamber musician and strong supporter of new music, she has premiered numerous works for piano and varied chamber music ensembles. Recently, she was a prize winner in the Barbara Wagner Chamber Music Competition as a member of the Lumi Trio (clarinet, violin and piano).

Jeong-Eun Lee is a postdoctoral resident scholar and visiting assistant professor of music in chamber and collaborative music at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music. Dedicated to performing a wide range of solo and chamber repertoire, she previously held collaborative pianist positions at the State University of New York – Geneseo and Riverside City College in California. Since her orchestral debut with the Skagit Valley Symphony, Lee has appeared as a soloist with orchestras around the United States, including the Seattle Symphony, Eastman School Symphony Orchestra and Eastern Music Festival Orchestra. She has performed at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C., and Benaroya Hall in Seattle, Washington, as well as in the Czech Republic, Italy and the Netherlands. In addition to a concerto performance with the Riverside City College Symphony Orchestra, recent engagements include chamber concerts in the United States and South Korea. She will present a master class for Minhae Lee’s piano students while visiting the SFA campus.

Tickets are $8 for adults, $6 for seniors and $3 for students and youth. To purchase tickets, call the SFA Fine Arts Box Office at (936) 468-6407 or visit finearts.sfasu.edu. For additional information, contact the SFA School of Music at (936) 468-4602.

- Advertisement -

Read More

- Advertisement -

Explore East Texas

- Advertisement -