Leadership Tomorrow’s Volunteer Day

More From This Author

The 23rd Leadership Tomorrow class met on December 10th to complete one of its three volunteer projects for the 2014-2015 program year. Each year one session is dedicated to a full day of volunteer work at a non-profit in our community. This year all 30 class members spent the day assisting with various painting projects to help maintain the cheerful environment of several buildings on campus of the Lufkin State Supported Living Center.

The day was coordinated by Lynn Hopper, Community Relations Director, of the Lufkin State Supported Living Center and Bonnie Dowdy, Leadership Tomorrow Chairman. The Leadership Tomorrow program is made possible through student sponsorships by businesses and parents. A special thank you extended to CMC Recycling, the Presenting Sponsor for 2014-2015, to Hudson ISD for providing transportation for the session, and to the Lufkin State Supported Living Center for providing lunch.

Leadership Tomorrow consists of 30 high school juniors from all of the Angelina County school districts. The program was designed for high school and home school juniors in Angelina County and mirrors the Leadership Lufkin program. Students in the program have the opportunity to learn about Angelina County first hand, to explore possible career opportunities that exist in this area, and give back to the community through three volunteer service projects. For more information on Leadership Tomorrow, contact Susie Cardwell at scardwell@lufkintexas.org.


PICTURE CAPTION: Leadership Tomorrow Class #23 volunteering at the Lufkin State Supported Living Center.

Class members are:  Elisabeth Alvis (Lufkin High School), Emma Cherry (Huntington High School), BriAnn Criswel (Lufkin High School), Diana Dunman (Lufkin High School), Allie East (Lufkin High School), Hanna Eddings (Zavalla High School), Kristen Evans (Zavalla High School), Whitney Flournoy (Huntington High School), Josiah Garges (Hudson High School), Emma Godfrey (Hudson High School), Katelyn Hanks (Hudson High School), Hayden Havard (Lufkin High School), Ivan Hernandez (Lufkin High School), Matt Jungmann (Lufkin High School), Erin LaRoe (Home School), Matt Lindsey (Huntington High School), Brooke Loggins (Huntington High School), Hannah Matteson (Huntington High School), Heather McDaniel (Lufkin High School),Samantha Montoya (Diboll High School), Scott Morgan (Lufkin High School), Bryndan Nerren (Huntington High School), Chloe Presnall (Diboll High School), Holly Ratcliff (Hudson High School), Dondrick Sanders (Lufkin High School), Tristan Sims (Diboll High School), Jackson Vier (Lufkin High School), Noah Vier (Lufkin High School), Richard Wilroy (Huntington High School), and Mikayla Young (Hudson High School).

- Advertisement -

Read More

- Advertisement -

Explore East Texas

- Advertisement -