Awards To Be Presented At The 47th Annual DETCOG Membership Meeting


The Ralph W. Steen East Texan of the Year Award, and the President’s Award for Outstanding Committee Work on behalf of a DETCOG board member, will both be presented at during the 47th Annual Deep East Texas Council of Governments (DETCOG) membership meeting and awards luncheon. It is being held Thursday, May 26th at the Pitser Garrison Convention Center in Lufkin.

The Steen award was named after the beloved Past President of Stephen F. Austin State University Dr. Ralph W. Steen. It honors an individual who has played a major role in leadership and service to the twelve county DETCOG Region. The award is unusual in that its recipient is chosen by those who previously received the recognition.

This year’s special guest speaker will be the Chief of the Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) W. Nim Kidd. Kidd is responsible for the state’s emergency preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation activities. TDEM response activities include

disaster field response and daily operations, which include statewide alert monitoring, management of the AMBER and Silver Alert programs, and the processing of daily requests for assistance from local jurisdictions.

DETCOG’s Board President, Angelina County Judge, Wes Suiter would like to extend an invitation to the public to attend. The luncheon starts at noon and tickets can be purchased at the door. Anyone needing information may contact the DETCOG office in Jasper at (409) 384-5704.