Record Field Completes Guy Davis Golf Tournament


Area Golfers, Businesses Support Angelina College Athletics

Golfers head out to the links in a shotgun start to kick off the 11th Annual Guy Davis Golf Tournament held Saturday at Crown Colony. A record-setting field of 235 golfers on 47 teams competed in support of Angelina College Athletics programs. (Gary Stallard/AC Press photo)

The annual Guy Davis Golf Tournament hasn’t just grown bigger by the year. It’s also increasing its overall reach.

On Saturday, a record-setting field of 235 players and 47 teams competed at Crown Colony Country Club in Lufkin, with the five-man scramble format providing plenty of opportunities for great shots and great times.

The overall winner was the team from Brewster consisting of Russell Brewster, Drew Canty, Andrew Haywood, Rusty Harris and Tyler Thompson. First Flight winner was the Nathan Pegram team consisting of Nathan Pegram, Marco Maldonado, Matt Jones, Matt Varner and Michael Haney. The Farmers Insurance team (Ray Allen, Garret Massie, B.J. Clement, Justin Morehead and Cameron Hubbard) battled to take the Second Flight; and the Coburns Supply team of Cade Powell, Jay Walden, Gary Seaman, Wendy Robbins and Jason Murphy earned the Third Flight title.

The tournament, which just wrapped up its 11th year, serves as both a fund raiser for all Angelina College athletics programs and a way for the community to connect with AC staff, coaches and athletes. Roadrunner players from every sport helped work the tournament, with at least one athlete riding along with each team.

The Roadrunner Foundation again hosted the event, and Foundation president Steve Hall noted how the tournament’s reputation has spread far outside Angelina County.

“We have players coming in from out of state, just like we do every year, but this year we saw a lot more businesses from out of town entering teams,” Hall said. “It shows a lot about how much the people of East Texas care about supporting one another.”

Hall credited area sponsors, including presenting sponsor Brookshire Brothers – which has served as presenting sponsor for every tournament – and others. Loving Auto Group stationed a 2018 Toyota Tacoma on a par-three hole as a potential hole-in-one prize, and Ross Motorsports parked a 2018 Honda Pioneer utility vehicle on another hole for yet another ace incentive. Moore Brothers Construction offered a $10,000 prize for another hole-in-one.

On Friday, August 24, Angelina College’s athletics programs will host “Meet the Roadrunner” banquet beginning at 6 p.m. at Shands Gymnasium on the AC campus, where fans will have the opportunity to meet with athletes and coaches.

The e-mail address for AC’s Sports Information Director is


Gary Stallard
Gary Stallard
Sports Information Director Gary Stallard, who also serves as a Liberal Arts Instructor, begins his eleventh season with Angelina College. Following a career as a U.S. Marine, Stallard completed his bachelor’s degree at Stephen F. Austin University, where he majored in English and Journalism. For more than 16 years, he has worked as a sports writer/columnist/photographer for the Lufkin Daily News; he continues to contribute free-lance articles on occasion. Stallard has won several awards for writing, including the Golden Hoops Award for basketball writing in 2003, Regional Sports Writer of the Year in 2004, and the Texas Press Association’s first-place award for column writing in 2007 and in 2014. He has also done basketball, football and baseball radio and live streaming play-by- play and color commentary for an ESPN affiliate. Currently Stallard serves as play-by-play broadcaster for AC basketball, baseball and softball games.

Prior to arriving at Angelina College, Stallard taught English at Lufkin High School for four years. He currently teaches Developmental Writing classes at AC. He and his wife Susan live in Lufkin.

Leave A Reply