Pack Baseball Well Represented on All-District Team

Playing against competition from one of the hotbeds for baseball talent in the state of Texas, the Lufkin Panthers still managed to string together a postseason performance in the 2017 season. Several of those players received individual honors as the 12-6A
All-District Baseball Team was recently announced.
The Panthers put two players on the first-team squad to go along with three second-team picks.
Lufkin was led on the first team by senior hurler Kolton Eberlan, who had a tremendous season to emerge as the ace of the staff. He helped lead Lufkin to a pair of victories over eventual district champion The Woodlands.
He was joined on the first team by outfielder Jonathan Dewberry. In addition to his stellar work at the plate, Dewberry also emerged as a defensive presence for the Pack.
Those players were joined by a trio of Panthers on the second team.
Senior shortstop Dylan Murphy led the way for those selections.
He was joined by a pair of Lufkin juniors in Max Quick and Dillon McDuffie. Those players provided Lufkin with options at various positions throughout the season.
McDuffie earned his selection at third base although he also saw time on the mound for the Pack.
Quick had a well-deserved spot on the team as a utility player. After playing at first base, Quick filled a need in stepping in at catcher for the Panthers.
Lufkin’s all-district selections were rounded out by Tanner Green, who was an honorable mention pick.
In addition to those Lufkin was well represented on the academic all-district team as Luis Dominguez, Hunter Van Schoubroek, Kolton Eberlan, Dylan Murphy and Max McCarty were each honored for their work in the classroom.
Oak Ridge’s Tyler Davis was named the District MVP, while his coach Mike Pirtle was named Coach of the Year.
The Woodlands’ freshman Drew Romo was named Newcomer of the Year.
Other first-team picks were utility player Zack La Canfora (The Woodlands), designated hitter Avery Ortiz (The Woodlands), pitchers Marshall Prether (Conroe), Devin Fontenot and Steven Beard (The Woodlands) and Jacorey Boudreaux (Oak
Ridge), catcher Scott Horn (Conroe), first baseman Ryan Wohlschlaeger (Conroe), second baseman Travis Washburn (College Park), third baseman Ryan Eshelman (Oak Ridge), shortstops Jordan Hood (Montgomery) and Tyler Linniweber (Conroe) and outfielders Eric Bordovsky
(College Park) and Shane Sirdashney and Vincent Secrest (The Woodlands).
Other second-team selections were pitchers Gavin Lubruyere (Montgomery), Colton Debowski (Conroe), Cole Sichley (The Woodlands) and Chase Burchett and Luke Trahan (College Park), catcher Austin Pritchett (Montgomery), first baseman Isaac
Rivera (College Park), second basemen Dawson Shibley (Conroe) and Wyatt Spoon (Oak Ridge), third baseman Will Swope (The Woodlands), shortstops Michael Loggins (College Park) and Rey Chapa (Oak Ridge) and outfielders Dillon Smith (Montgomery), Angel Hernandez
(Conroe), Ryan Tackett (The Woodlands) and Logan Letney (Oak Ridge).


Ezra McMullen
Ezra McMullin graduated high school and decided it was time to get to work. Initially, he worked for his grandparents at Huntington Market & Deli or better known as Dean’s in the area. He transition to working as an office clerk in a law firm before making the move to MSGPR as a videographer and content manager. It was an easy switch fueled by passions he pursued in his free time, where he watches plenty of Youtube, and spurred an interest in the video editing world. He's putting passion to work, learning how to shoot and edit videos, and says it’s a lot more fun than he expected. He is studying at Angelina College and enjoys playing golf, hanging with friends and his girlfriend, and staying up past 3am playing X Box telling himself he'll just play one more level before bed.

Leave A Reply