Angelina College Presents “Holiday, Hope and Honor”


LUFKIN, TEXAS, Nov. 20, 2017 – Angelina College will host the fourth annual “Holiday, Hope and Honor” concert Nov. 30 at 7:30 p.m. in Temple Theater. The concert features the AC Chorale and the East Texas Praise Symphony. Tickets are $5 for adults and $4 for seniors, students and children.

The concert, emceed by Gary Stallard, A.C. instructor and Sports Information director, is a salute to US troops and veterans as well as a celebration of the holiday season. Donations for the Veteran’s Administration sock closet will be accepted at the event. Under the direction of Beckie Compton, A.C. music instructor, the program will feature a variety of patriotic and holiday selections such as “A Merry Carol of the Bells,” “Jingle Bells,” “God Bless America,” “God Bless the USA,” “Hallelujah Chorus,” “Irving Berlin’s Christmas,” “‘Tis the Season,” “You’re a Grand Old Flag,” “Canticle for Instruments,” “Here’s to the Military,” “How Great Our Joy,” “Come, Emmanuel” and “Stars and Stripes Forever.”

A.C. students performing include Nicholas Trusclair, Colin Wise, John McAdams, Caitlyn Hutson, Shelby Scoggin and Lachelle Thompson, all of Lufkin; Jacob Huber, Javielle Smith and Marina Zinck, all of Nacogdoches; Erin Wise, Jasper; Justin Birdwell, Alto; Quavious Johnson, Conroe; Mattie Fortenberry, Fred; and Paytin Pogue, Diboll.

A.C. employees performing are Bryan Compton, adjunct instructor; Doug Conn, AC police chief; Cynthia Casparis, vice president of Academic Affairs; and Nicole Hunt, adjunct instructor.

AC alumni performing are Reshonda Keys, Jad O’Connor, Josh Robinson, Micah Shaffer, Ja’Michael Wingwood, La’Quisha Davis, Ailyn Torres, Shelby Brown and Sarah Jackson.

Others performers include Herb Blackmon, Billy Forrest, Joe Jones, Clif Layton, Stacy Perkins, Sarah Shaffer, Heather Barney, Jan Blackmon, Kari Naumann and Tammy Oliver. Ernest Boamah is the chorale accompanist.

The East Texas Praise Symphony includes Amy Wych, Ana Watts, Beth Wilbanks, Brenda Josephsen, Carole Deptula, Dee Allums, Dianna Smith, Dixon Shanks, Emily Cavanaugh, Evelyn Walker, George Little, Jan DeVries, Jo Tucker, Karen Mitchell, Karen Trammell, Laura Treadaway, LaVan Watts, Lori Letney, Malinda Compton, Mark Crager, Mark Saldana, Melvin Eckman, Nadine Chadwell, Pam McClendon, Rhonda Stephenson, Ricky Gay, Scott Williams, Sheila Hill, Steve McClean, Theresa Moon, Tom Corbitt, Walter Bates, Aubrey (AJ) Zenn, Steven Brown and Beckie Compton, conductor.

For more information about this event, call the Temple Theater box office at (936) 633-5454, 11 a.m. until 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.


Nancy Reynolds
Nancy Reynolds
Nancy Reynolds has proudly served Angelina College since 2000. She began serving as AC’s communications coordinator in 2005. Prior to that, she was the public relations specialist.

Reynolds earned both her bachelor’s and master’s degrees at Stephen F. Austin State University. She taught speech courses as an adjunct for AC for eight years.

As communications coordinator, Reynolds’ responsibilities include the following: writing news releases, directing social media, collaborating with the marketing team, managing the Angelina College brand, coordinating publications, managing web content, coordinating internal communications and providing media training.

Reynolds lives in Lufkin with her husband Reg. They have two sons, one daughter-in-law, three grandchildren, and one cat.

Leave A Reply